Connections

I didn’t make it to yoga today, scheduling conflicts came at me from every angle. At first I tried to abruptly race to the studio and then I beat myself up for not trying harder to make it to class. But I finally remembered that’s not what it’s about. I might not get the physical practice in today, but I can still work on the mental focus. Concentrating on the positives, working on the right priorities. Tonight they were having dinner ready when my son got home. Even when he was late. Being available to take that call from my daughter who lives a plane ride away. Sitting by a lonely friend in the pew, sharing her joy from a new job. Connections, real life connections. Not Facebook friends or acquaintances. But real people who matter to me. Yoga helps me get there, even when I’m not there. The practice of slowing down, taking deep breathes, focus, it all allows me to be there for myself and for others. connections

2 thoughts on “Connections

  1. Susan says:

    Very nice. It’s all too easy to “connect” thought a screen…but really that isn’t connecting at all. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

  2. mayawoodall says:

    I could use a little of this right now: “The practice of slowing down, taking deep breathes, focus, it all allows me to be there for myself and for others. connections.” Maybe the connections were your yoga today…your slowing down, listening, connecting, and feeling joy.

Leave a Reply

