Power yoga?

Well, I made it. I survived the class. I was sweating. I swear they had the heat on. My body needed that, needed to be pushed harder than it wanted to. I love the core power class. As hard as it is, I know I’ll survive and be the better for it. Life is like that. It can be so hard sometimes. And often we’re not really sure if we’ll make it, but we do. And it is worth it, we are better for it.  I have had such a wonderful week off from teaching. I do love my job, but so needed the mental and physical break. The time to snooze in bed with my cat most of the day. To hang out with friends leisurely chatting the afternoon away. To just be. And to write. It hasn’t been a lot, but I’ve been doing it which I’m proud of. So here’s to powering on with it, even when school starts again on Monday and life gets crazy. I’ve got the power!

5 thoughts on “Power yoga?

  1. Judy C. says:

    I agree, life is a lot like exercise – we will survive and be better for it! So glad that you had a good week off to get rejuvenated and refreshed.

  2. makablaze says:

    I hear the song in my head right now. I have often tried to keep the vacation mindset during the school year, and I’ve never been able to do it for more than a week. I don’t mean the lazy part. I mean the part that you mention, the powering though and acceptance of what comes instead of just reacting to everything. Does that make sense?

  3. debbussewitz says:

    I love the analogy about powering through life and powering through yoga–pushing yourself to the limits to get to the next level. I find that there are many yoga/life metaphors that resonate and inspire me.

  4. litcoach64 says:

    Loved your analogy comparing life with exercise. It’s so true! “So here’s powering on with it!” Great phrase!!

  5. dawnaguilar says:

    So nice to have down time. Glad you had a restful vacation. I think the hard part of going back is when your mind is full and work is hanging over your head. Yikes! This totally sounds negative–I love my job too but it is important to take a break.

Leave a Reply

