Mission Statements

In most yoga classes I attend, the instructor asks us to set an intention. What do we want to get out of class or what do we want to put out to the universe? It is such a nice way to take a minute to stop and breath. And for me, I most often reflect on the gratitude I feel. It might be for having the time to go to class or for the day I’ve had, or want to have. Coming back to the intention at the end keeps my focus in the right place as I’m going back into the real world when class is over.

i’ve been siting through two days of Leader in Me training based on the 7 Habits by Covey. Today was emotional for most in the room as we opened our hearts to the possibilities before us. How could we change our lives for the better? Both at work and at home? Stories were shared as were tissues. Then we worked on creating our personal mission statements. I’ve done this before, but so long ago I don’t remember what it said. Today mine started out fairly egotistical. Well, it was my statement right? But it didn’t take too long before I realized I needed to shift my focus a bit. It’s going to take some time and a lot of rewriting before I will come up with something worthy of hanging on the wall or displaying on my desk.

It’s easier in yoga class to set an intention or purpose for the class which is only an hour. Planning for the rest of my life is a bit daunting, but it is important and I’m so glad I’ve had this opportunity. I’m not going to let it pass me by.

Leave a Reply

