A bird sitting on a tree is never afraid of the branch breaking, because her trust is not on the branch but on its own wings.
Always believe in yourself.
-author unknown

What a cool concept! When I see a bird I never think of the branch breaking either. I guess I’m thinking the bird is smart enough to pick a branch that is strong enough. That’s what a bird does. That’s one of the few things it does.

The other way to look at it is that if you don’t believe in yourself, why should anyone else believe in you?

I saw the above quote earlier today and attached it to my email signature for all to ponder. Then I went to a political meeting where they were looking to recruit volunteers. “I can do data entry. I’m just not confident enough to do the door-to-door stuff or sit at the phone bank.”

Now that I’m at home, I can’t believe I said that! I am a very confident person. I think what I meant to say was that at this time I don’t know enough about the candidate to answer questions people might have. Instead, I said I’m not confident enough, like I’m afraid the branch will break. Shame on me!

Regular yoga classes have taught me that while no, my body can’t do every pose, it can do most of them with practice and instruction, in one form or another. That’s why there are instructors at each class, to guide gently along the path towards progress. The campaign will guide me and help me grow into a knowledgable volunteer. I am capable of this. I won’t cause the branch to break. Believe, always.

A bird sitting …

Leave a Reply

