Back in the Saddle Again!

Yep, went to yoga today and I’m blogging, life’s good! 

The truth is, I intended to go to the 8:00am outdoor class. I love practicing yoga outside. The breeze on my face and the sounds of the birds totally changes the experience for me. But I decided when I went to bed at 1:00am the night before that wouldn’t work. So then it was the 9:45 am class. I usually attend this one. Great instuctor and great time, not too early or late. When I woke up at 9:35am however, I decided that wouldnt’ work either. Luckly there was an 11:00am one and I got there early!

I’m not usually too self concious in class. There are a variety of people, various ages and sizes. We even have guys attending now. But today there were only four of us and I started thinking about the age difference between myself and the barely 20-somethings I was in class with. Even the instructor is barely as old I was I was when I got my first college degree in the 1980’s. So this must be what it feels like to start being age concious. 

Not only was I older, but my body didn’t match theirs. It has been many years and two babies since my stomach was that flat and my legs that thin. I quickly shifted my mental gears though, because I remembered how much my body has been through in my almost 53 years. There has been a lot of wear and tear. From skiing to snowboarding to white water rafting and hot air ballooning. Attempts at the flying trapeze and Jazzersize. Swimming and biking. Horseback riding, hiking and chasing children. I’ve used my body everyday in one way or another. By the time by birthday rolls around in September, I will have been moving and abusing my body for 19,345 days. So it’s naturally not going to look anything like a yonger body with less experience. And I am happy for my experiences.

And yes, now I’m writing about my class experience. I did sit down to the computer at 3:00 pm for that exact purpose and it’s now 4:35 pm and I’m finally cranking something out. But at least I am. One step at a time. I’m proud of myself, just like I am for keeping up with the 20-somethings. Or at least trying to!

Leave a Reply

