Keep It In Perspective…

Today was Father’s Day and I dutifully made the two hour trip to visit mine. I brought a ready-to-eat lunch and enjoyed the time with both my parents. But when did they get so old?

Fare enough, my mom has had an operation recently and luckily is recovering nicely. But both her and my dad  were in “old mode” today. I heard the same stories that I heard last weekend. My dad talked about how hard his yard chores are, which I’ve never heard him do. He has always been the I-can-do-it kind of guy. When I was outside shoveling mulch into boxes, he was inside doing the dishes. I don’t blame him really. It was hot and humid outside and it was Father’s Day. He shouldn’t have even been doing the dishes!

Driving home tonight I was thinking about my previous blog where I envied the younger ladies in my yoga class. One day I’m wishing I was younger and the next I’m grateful I’m not as old as I thought. Perspective helps, doesn’t it?

I’ve been thinking about the whole life cycle, how we go from babies to toddlers, then teens and young adults, eventually becoming full-fledged adults with mortgages and families. Maybe because we stay in this stage so long, we forget that one day we too will be among the aged, creeping much closer to death and birth.

I’m really not a morbid kind of person. It’s a natural thing that we will all do. I don’t expect to die anytime soon, but I know I will and at this point in my life I can honestly say I am content with what I’ve accomplished in various areas of my life. Of course, there’s always room for improvement and I hope to have many more years to continue to work on my short-comings. 

Of course, while I’m thinking about how old they are, my mom is trying to get me to wear gloves and not forget the bug spray. I’ll always be her baby, which is not such a bad thing.Image

Leave a Reply

