One Step at a Time…

     I’ve been in my yoga pants all day. I had worked out the schedule and knew which class I wanted to go to after I got everything else done. But after cleaning all morning and most of the afternoon, I’m too tired. I just want a nap. Isn’t that part of a good yoga practice, savasana?

     What a good name, corpse pose. That’s what I want to do right now, lay down like a corpse and sleep. I don’t know why I’m so overwhelming tired. I’ve had a very productive day, but it’s 6:30pm and I can barely keep my eyes open. I had planned to go to Core Yoga, which is a good solid workout. I think my body tricked me and is trying to get out of working any more today. That’s okay, now my mind will get it’s turn.

     I’ve got a list a mile long of things I’m working on. I’m doing an online course through Harvard that’s closing up next week and I’m about 5 weeks behind. Good thing it’s free and not for credit. But still I want to finish it. I’m doing 3 Bible Studies this month. Why didn’t I stick to just one like I usually do? I’m off for the summer so I thought I’d take advantage of the extra time I will have. I should have stuck to one so I could have been more committed to it, rather than feeling like I’m always behind. Then I told my students I would do the online coding class they were working on. It’s fun, but it’s another hour on the computer. That’s just the online stuff!

     Yes, I’m complaining again. Another day or too and I’ll get it out of my system.

     This is the summer of regrouping and refocusing on the things that are important. Just like in yoga class, you can’t work on everything all at once. You need to take it one step at a time. First breath, then focus on the feet, then the legs and arms, and so forth. Step by step the body lines up and the pose takes shape, a little shaky at first, but then it becomes solid, planted into the space.

     I am working with a yoga teacher now on a ten week course where she is teaching me the daily habits of Ayurveda (yoga’s sister science). We are going week by week through the components of a healthier body. We are currently talking about an earlier and lighter evening meal between 5:00-6:00pm. Sounds easy enough, but next week’s topic of going to bed earlier will be tricky. The world doesn’t shut down at 10:00pm, why should I? 

     So now that I’m finished with my blog I think I’ll perfect my savasana.

Leave a Reply

