Teacher in Training

I attended a class today instructed by a teacher who is in a yoga teacher training program. It was her first class on her own, but her instructor was in the back for support.

I immediately realized how hard it is to teach a class!

We are so used to our experienced teachers who can deftly move us from one pose to another. But us inexperienced teachers must be very careful with our language to make sure our students know what to do. They can’t always see us, so they need to be able to clearly hear what the next step is.

I’m going to need a lot of practice and repetition. I’m going to start practicing on my cat. I won’t subject humans to my instruction until I am very smooth and clear. My poor cat!

Leave a Reply

